top of page
  • indepage1

Leven Thumps And The Gateway To Foo Book Review!


Chapters :- 31


Genres :- Fantasy Fiction, Children's Literature, Bedtime Stories


Rating :- 8 yrs - 16yrs


Author :- Obert Skye


Synopsis :-

Fourteen-year-old Leven Thumps (also known as Lev) lives a miserable life in Burnt Culvert, Oklahoma with his aunt and her husband. It’s very difficult but everything is about to change when Leven finds out about a secret gateway that bridges two worlds - the real world and Foo.


Foo is a place that was created at the beginning of time. Foo makes it possible for humans to dream, hope, aspire, and imagine but Foo is in a lot of chaos. This causes three individuals to leave the dream world to retrieve Lev, who has the power to save Foo.


These three individuals are Clover, a wisecracking, foot-high sidekick; Winter, a girl with a special power of her own; and Geth, the rightful heir to Foo. Their mission is to convince Lev that he has the power to save Foo.


Can this unique band of travelers help Leven overcome his doubt? Will Leven find the gateway in time? Or will Sabine and his dark shadows find the gateway first and destroy humanity?


 

The Review:-

In doing my research, it was surprising how low the rating for this book is! Turns out that a lot of people did not enjoy reading it. They say that the storyline is very similar to Harry Potter’s but I beg to differ! I remember when I first read the book in my teenage years and I loved it!


This book surprised me in the sense that when I read it as an adult I forgot that the book was originally written for a younger audience.


It is written in a style of writing that is easy to understand and follow. Most of the characters are very silly and help to bring a smile to those who read it. Though it is to aimed at a younger audience, I thoroughly enjoyed reading it over and over again!


There are a few loose ends in the story, however, the storyline was generally well played out and the series of events was well laid.


Without giving too much away, my favorite character would have to be Clover! He is sweet, lovable, and utterly ridiculous. He does everything to help out his ‘burn’ Leven and has a good heart. He is very loyal and goes above and beyond! If I was to have a best friend, I’d want them to be like Clover. My favorite scene with Clover would have to be when he first appeared to Leven.

I also liked that Obert Skye put drawings of different scenes and characters within the book to help give you an idea of how some people looked and how certain scenes were set up. This book also ended on a very good note and set the stage for book two. I was thrilled to the very end and was excited to see book two!

We’ve given Leven Thumps and the Gateway to Foo a rating of 9 out of 10. The only reason that I haven’t given it a 10 out of 10 is that many little things can be changed but otherwise this was a great read!


What do you think? Leave us a comment and let us know your thoughts!


Comments


bottom of page