top of page
  • indepage1

The Nutcracker And The Four Realms: The Secret Of The Realms (An Extended Novelization) Book Review!


Chapters :- 30


Genres :- Christmas, Kids Fiction, Disney, Fantasy, Magic, Fiction


Rating :- 8 yrs - 12 yrs


Author :- Meredith Rusu


Art By :- Thomas Fluharty


Synopsis :-

When Clara Stahlbaum receives a beautiful yet mysterious egg-shaped box from her late mother, she wonders what it means. Searching for answers, Clara soon finds herself in a magical world- The Four Realms- where she meets a host of colorful and curious new friends and discovers the fascinating link between the Realms and her dear mother. But when she learns that the Realms are in danger of being destroyed, Clara vows to help.

Years earlier, Clara’s mother, Marie, is a lonely orphan adopted by an eccentric inventor. She stumbles upon an unbelievable place and decides to apply her mechanical skills in magical ways. But as time passes, Marie finds she must choose between the real world and the magical world of her dreams.

Follow the incredible adventures of an inventor on a journey through a wondrous world and her daughter determined to protect it.

 

The Review:-

I read this around Christmas time which made the reading such a satisfying experience. The Christmas air set the stage for the book and I was happy about that.


This book starts with us (the audience) being made aware that Clara's mother is dead. Clara receives a Christmas gift that her mother wanted her to have, which takes her on a journey where she learns to believe in herself, just like how her mother believed in her. There is a common theme in this story about believing in yourself even when the odds are stacked against you.


I thought that the book was a good read. It was captivating from start to finish and had a touch of Christmas spirit to it which I enjoyed.


However, there were things within the book that I would say were a bit predictable. For example, without giving away any spoilers, From the very beginning, I could tell who the true bad guy was and was able to foretell the course of events after that. Maybe that was because technically this book is meant for people in a younger age group.

In this book, I had two favorite characters. My first and absolute favorite was Phillip the toy soldier. He was so brave and ready to defend Clara to the very end. I also loved that he was rewarded for his efforts. Though he wasn’t one of the main characters, he had a lasting impression on me.


My other favorite character is Mr. Drosselmeyer. He makes me feel like he is my grandfather and has such a calming and loving feel to him. He only popped in and out but each time he did I appreciated the interaction greatly.

We’ve given The Nutcracker And The Four Realms: The Secret Of The Realms a rating of 7 out of 10. I enjoyed reading this but at the same time, there were moments when I was not entirely sold on what was presented before me.

 

Stay Tuned For My Favorite Quote!


“But it was just her in the mirror. Clara. The same brown eyes looking back at her as they had her whole life - the ones her mother used to say sparkled with a clever machine’s gleam.


Everything you need is inside.


And then she understood. A smile slowly spread across her face.”

 


What do you think about this book? Do you agree with our rating? Let us know what you think in the comments!

Comments


bottom of page